Friday and Tuesday training

October 24, 2008 at 11:15 am (Uncategorized) ()

Friday last week, October 17, I had just come back from Sicily in the early afternoon. As I just couldn’t miss another training =) I only stopped at home for a short time before continuing on to training. It was well worth it, anyway: once again I was the only student present (let’s face it: most people have something else to do on Friday evenings), and although of course I enjoy training with the other students, an individual training is even better. =)

We practiced the techniques we have done so far (not that many as we are moving at a really slow beginner’s speed), especially yokomenuchi shihonage (diagonal slash with the side of the hand, joint lock), monotsuki koteoroshi (punch to the stomach, joint lock) and shomenuchi kokyunage (vertical strike with the side of the hand ending in a throw).

Tuesday training

From the three potential students that visited us a little while ago, one has sinced joined us and is present at every training with visible enthusiasm. On Tuesday, there were again two new potential students (one, I think, had taken part once before during my vacation). It’s somehow so nice to see how we’re growing! =) Although – it does mean less room for each of us to practice rolls… πŸ˜‰

At first we examined the first four exercises of the ki gymnastics in detail and tried them with ki tests afterwards, then we practiced some more katate tori kokyu nage.

I guess I can expect to make some visible process soon… Why? Because I’ve read and heard that always before a step forward there’s a feeling that nothing’s working any more, and although it’s not that bad, I am currently a little annoyed with myself and my (virtually non-existent) understanding and progress… πŸ˜‰ Oh well. I’ll just wait and see and continue to train. =)

Leave a comment